In Their Words – Wednesday, July 31, 2013

With Griffin Dunne 'After Hours' (1985)

With Griffin Dunne ‘After Hours’ (1985)

“I think it’s accumulated. If it’s trained, it’s trained from my own films. You can imagine the tension in a scene, or the warmth, or the humor. I think I know the size of the frame, and I think I know when to cut – and when not to. Somehow that comes out of the story, and the actors who are playing the parts. They determine, sometimes, whether you should move the camera or not, whether you should be in close-up, whether it should be a medium close-up. I try to translate all of that into visual terms-the feeling I’d like to get from a scene.” –Martin Scorsese

About Michael J

I watch movies, write about movies, think about movies, and cook.
Quote | This entry was posted in In Their Words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

