Born On This Day – March 23, 1910

Martin Scorsese & Akira Kurosawa on the set of 'Dreams' (1990)

Martin Scorsese & Akira Kurosawa on the set of ‘Dreams’ (1990)

“A film is never really good unless the camera is an eye in the head of a poet.”

“My way of creating, my style if you want to call it that, is something I was born with: it comes naturally. For that reason, it’s not something I’m overly aware of while I’m doing it. I don’t force any picture of mine to be a Kurosawa film. I just tell the actors to be honest with themselves and true to their feelings, not to think about unnecessary things, and to let their actions flow naturally. This is my philosophy of film art, and it’s an aesthetic principle that I hold dear—it comes from the heart. I am simply a maker of films.”

“I like unformed characters. This may be because, no matter how old I get, I am still unformed myself.” –Akira Kurosawa

About Michael J

I watch movies, write about movies, think about movies, and cook.
Quote | This entry was posted in In Their Words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

