Born On This Day – May 1, 1946

John Woo“I had to fight to survive. Whenever I got beat up, I got upset, I also ran into the theater to watch a movie. […] I didn’t have money. I just sneaked in or watched the movie from the peephole. I have found my heaven in musicals. When I watch a musical, it makes me believe life is still beautiful. There are still a lot of beautiful people in the world. So I like the costumes, I love the song, I love all those smiles, I love those dance. In theater I found my heaven.”

“I’m not a master; I’m just a hard-working filmmaker. I would like everyone to see me as a friend rather than a master.” –John Woo

About Michael J

I watch movies, write about movies, think about movies, and cook.
Quote | This entry was posted in In Their Words and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

