Born On This Day – September 5, 1942

Werner Herzog - B&W“In my films landscapes are never just picturesque or scenic backdrops as they often are in Hollywood films. In Aguirre the jungle is never some lush, beautiful environment it might be in a television commercial. Sometimes when you see the jungle in the film it is a reality so strange you cannot trust it, and maybe think it is a special effect. The jungle is really all about our dreams, our deepest emotions, our nightmares. It is not just a location, it is a state of our mind. It has almost human qualities. It is a vital part of the characters’ inner landscapes. The question I asked myself when first confronted by the jungle was ‘How can I use this terrain to portray landscapes of the mind?’ I had never been to Peru before filming but had imagined the landscapes and the atmosphere with real precision. It was curious because when I arrived there everything was exactly as I had imagined it. It was as if the landscapes had no choice: they had to fit my imagination and submit themselves to my ideas of what they should look like.” –Werner Herzog

About Michael J

I watch movies, write about movies, think about movies, and cook.
Quote | This entry was posted in In Their Words and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

